Florida Hunting &
Fishing Licenses Exemptions
from Hunting Licenses
Florida law requires possession of a valid
hunting license when hunting with the following exceptions:
Any individual under 16 years of age.
Florida residents 65 years of age
and older. You must carry your Florida driver license or proof of age and residency.
(Residents age 65 or older may obtain a complimentary hunting and fishing
certificates at tax collector's office.)
Persons hunting in their county of residence on
their homestead or homestead of their spouse or minor child; or minor child
hunting on the homestead of their parents.
Florida residents who are totally and
permanently disabled. A card is issued to applicants who who meet the criteria as
determined by Florida law. Applications
for this card are available at the Tax Collector's office or visit
Military personnel who are residents of
Florida and are home on leave for a period of 30 days or less and have valid orders in
SPECIAL NOTE: The reciprocal agreement between Florida and Georgia
that allows senior citizens from either state to hunt and fish in fresh
water without licenses in both states will end on June
30, 2008. This means:
Georgia seniors will have to purchase hunting
licenses to hunt in Florida.
seniors will have to purchase freshwater and saltwater fishing licenses
to fish in Florida.
seniors will now have to purchase a management area permit in order to
apply for quota hunt permits.
Florida seniors will have to purchase hunting
licenses to hunt in Georgia.
Florida seniors will have to purchase freshwater and
saltwater fishing licenses to fish in Georgia.