Sarasota County Tax Collector - Barbara Ford-Coates - Exceptional Staff Exceptional Service

Outstanding Tax Collector in USA

On July 22, 2008, the Board of County Commissioners recognized Sarasota County Tax Collector Barbara Ford-Coates who recently received the “Victor E. Martinelli Outstanding Tax Collector Award” at the National Association of County Collectors, Treasurers and Finance Officers (NACCTFO) meeting in Kansas City, Mo, July 12, 2008. The Award is presented to a dedicated individual who has made improvements in cash management, is a professional of the highest caliber in the operation of their own county office, and serves as a leader in their home state.

According to prior award winner and chairman of the 2008 Martinelli committee, Ray Valdes, "A distinguished panel of five judges from around the country, not affiliated with NACCTFO or known to the organization, selects the winner and Barbara Ford-Coates was selected from amongst a number of highly qualified nominees."

The award nomination was submitted in March by the members of the Sarasota County Tax Collector’s management team.  Also recommending Ford-Coates was Clerk of the Circuit Court Karen Rushing who today presented the award on behalf of the finance officers.  Adding their support to the Ford-Coates’ nomination were Florida’s Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink, former Chief Circuit Judge Stephen Dakan, St. Johns County Florida Tax Collector Dennis Hollingsworth and Kootenai County Idaho Treasurer Tom Malzahn.

In accepting the award, Mrs. Ford-Coates thanked the four generations of Ford-Coates in Sarasota and her Tax Collector family “including the persons who answer the phones, help customers at the counter, process the mail, account for the deposits, keep the computers running and all the members of the management team.”