In order to get a learner's license, you must:
- be at least 15 years old
- take a Traffic Law & Substance Abuse Education Course - Sarasota Locations
- pass a vision & hearing test
- have a signed Parental Consent Form if you are under 18
- provide the required documents
- pass a test on road rules & road signs, practice test available online
- Sarasota County Tax Collector - Call 941.861.8300, option 2 for an appointment
- 101 S. Washington Blvd., Sarasota
- 601 S. Pompano Ave., Sarasota
- 4000 S. Tamiami Trl., Venice
- All knowledge exams have a sixty (60) minute time limit. Failure to successfully complete the exam in the allotted time period will result in the exam being terminated and a failure will be recorded.
- Tests are available in Arabic, Chinese, English, Haitian Creole, Russian, and Spanish.
- Oral Exams with an interpreter is available by appointment only for Sarasota County residents. To schedule an appointment, please call 941.861.8300, option 2.
- Tests are also available from providers by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The online service is available, for a fee, to students under 18 years of age. Once you complete the exam through an approved provider, your completion information is automatically submitted. Paper certificates are no longer required. Although the certificate is not required, please bring your confirmation number that is issued once you successfully complete the online test. Please note: A customer passing the learner's license exam through an approved provider may be randomly selected for a mandatory re-exam without prior notice.
Parents: For more information, please visit Drive with CARE which contains helpful information and resources for you and your child. Download the FL Drivers Guide for Parents and Teens which contains useful information about the graduated licensing program, a practice checklist and a driving log. Roundabouts are found throughout Sarasota County so you may wish to have your teenager watch this video.
Graduated Licensing: After holding a learner’s license for a year, a regular driver’s license can be issued. However, Florida has a graduated licensing system for up to age 18 which means that there are different rules for driving based on your age.